Orfee Schuijt
So, 04/11/2018, 19:00 Uhr

Kim Myhr

You | me, Deutschlandpremiere

Kim Myhr
Guitarist Kim Myhr is joined on stage by no less than three other guitarists and three percussionists. "You | me" is the most ambitious solo release so far by this Norwegian sound artist. His compositions revolve around a continuous pulse in which everything derives from a single musical idea. Myhr has created a slowly evolving, multi-layered sound cosmos which is so saturated with details that you feel as if you were completely immersed in it. At the same time, he preserves simplicity of form so that everything can be experienced as a continuous process. During his work in the studio, Myhr discovered "that one can gradually mutate lush and idyllic sound material into something more difficult and inaccessible, that opposites are always intertwined, that there is always a trace of one in the other". Part of this dialectic of opposites is that this pre-conceived large-scale work like this one will be performed in concert by experienced and skilled improvisational talents such as Tony Buck (The Necks), Ingar Zach (Dans Les Arbres), Hans Hulbækmo (Atomic) and David Stackenäs (Per Zanussi Ensemble). The result is a game of contrasts which is not just a statement on music but also an invitation to the audience to drift and let go.

KIM MYHR electric and acoustic guitars DAVID STACKENÄS electric and acoustic guitars HÅVARD VOLDEN electric and acoustic guitars ADRIAN MYHR guitars, bass INGAR ZACH percussion HANS HULBÆKMO drums, percussion TONY BUCK drums, percussion