singuhr — projekte

»singuhr — projects« is conceived as a decentralized, nationally and internationally linked platform that aims to promote the development of sound art on various levels and to shape the field together with artists, scholars and intermediaries. »singuhr — projects« is a logical extension of the artistic work of the »singuhr — hoergalerie«, which has not only presented up-and-coming and well-known, national and international sound artists in Berlin since 1996, but also drawn attention to the overlapping creative areas of audiovisual art and media production by staging performative projects as well as providing discourse and mediation programs of its own.

The desire to present installation-based sound art provided the conceptual framework for the gallery. The focus was on works that were specifically conceived for and subsequently realized in the spaces used by the gallery. At first the work of »singuhr — hoergalerie in parochial« was concentrated on the spaces of the Baroque Parochialkirche (Parochial Church) in Berlin Mitte, where 55 exhibition projects were undertaken between 1996 and 2006, before the city’s two historic cisterns in Prenzlauer Berg became the central presentation venue, along with smaller project spaces, for a total of 33 »singuhr — hoergalerie« exhibitions from 2007 to 2013.

Since 2014, »singuhr — projects«’s work has been focused on both the securing of new arrangements for the production of site-specific art — for instance through the awarding of project-related artist residencies — and on the development of an increasing number of co-operative, discursive and theoretical formats. At the same time, »singuhr — projects« continues to stand for the production of local exhibitions and projects of widely varying natures as well as increasingly also for internationally oriented production and discourse activities. The range extends here from large open-air concerts with site-specific compositions, to residency and exhibition collaborations with art museums and other institutions in the city, all the way to the curatorial development and realization of international exchange projects.

www.singuhr.de

singuhr — projekte

»singuhr — projekte« versteht sich als eine dezentrale, sowohl national wie international vernetzte Plattform, die die Entwicklung von Klangkunst auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen aktiv vorantreibt und gemeinsam mit Künstlern, Wissenschaftlern und Vermittlern gestaltet. »singuhr — projekte« ist eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung der künstlerischen Arbeit der «singuhr — hoergalerie», die seit 1996 nicht nur junge und bekannte, nationale und internationale KlangkünstlerInnen in Berlin präsentierte, sondern mit performativen Projekten sowie eigenen Diskurs- und Vermittlungsangeboten die künstlerischen Übergangsfelder audiovisueller Kunst- und Medienproduktionen thematisiert hat.

Die konzeptionelle Klammer bildete der Anspruch installative Klangkunst zu präsentieren. Im Zentrum standen Arbeiten, die speziell für die von der Galerie genutzten Räume konzipiert und dort auch realisiert wurden. Konzentrierte sich die Arbeit der »singuhr — hoergalerie in parochial« mit 55 Ausstellungsprojekten zwischen 1996 und 2006 zunächst auf die Räume der barocken Parochialkirche in Berlin-Mitte, so waren von 2007 bis 2013 neben kleineren Projekträumen die beiden historischen Wasserspeicher im Prenzlauer Berg der zentrale Präsentationsort für insgesamt 33 Ausstellungen der »singuhr — hoergalerie«.

Die Arbeitsschwerpunkte von »singuhr — projekte« liegen seit 2014 nun sowohl in der Erschließung neuer Produktionsbedingungen ortsbezogener Kunst — etwa durch die Vergabe von projektbezogenen Künstlerresidenzen — als auch in der Entwicklung vermehrt kooperativer, diskursiver und theoretischer Formate. Gleichzeitig steht »singuhr — projekte« weiterhin für die Produktion von lokalen Ausstellungen und Projekten sehr unterschiedlicher Ausprägung sowie vermehrt für eine international ausgerichtete Produktions- und Diskurstätigkeit. Die Spannweite reicht hier vom großen Open-Air-Konzert mit ortsbezogenen Kompositionen über Residenz- und Ausstellungskooperationen mit Kunsthäusern und anderen Institutionen in der Stadt bis hin zur kuratorischen Entwicklung und Realisierung von internationalen Austauschprojekten.

www.singuhr.de