O Yuki Conjugate
Di, 30/04/2019, 20:00 Uhr
Konzert

O Yuki Conjugate


Dirty Ambient im silent green

O Yuki Conjugate (OYC) formed in Nottingham, England, in 1982 as part of the post punk DIY scene.Currently in their fourth incarnation (centred around original members Roger Horberry and Andrew Hulme) OYC have released ten albums and retrospectives that together have earned them literally hundreds of pounds.

Originally inspired by Cabaret Voltaire, Durutti Column and Jon Hassell, OYC established their sound during the 80s with classic albums like Scene in Mirage and Into Dark Water. During the 90s, releases such as Peyote and Equator helped OYC gain recognition in Europe and the US before they disappeared back into hibernation for a decade.

Their music has been described as post-industrial, cold wave, dark ambient, tribal ambient, fourth world and so on; the band themselves currently prefer the term ‘dirty ambient’. They also describe themselves as the 'missing link between punk and ambient’, reflecting their outsider attitude and DIY ethic.

Today OYC are enjoying a resurgence of interest in their work. UK label Emotional Rescue is reissuing a series of early albums, and the band have played more shows in the last two years than in the previous 20. Their live set includes backing visuals created by filmmaker Hulme that presents a dream-like narrative closely tied to their music.

Before and after the show, DJ Zipo [aufabwegen] plays a set of ambient/field recording/noise collages.

O Yuki Conjugate

Roger Horberry
Andrew Hulme

http://www.silent-green.net

  • silent green Kulturquartier
  • Gerichtstr. 35, Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen

O Yuki Conjugate
Di, 30/04/2019, 20:00 Uhr
Konzert

O Yuki Conjugate


Dirty Ambient im silent green

O Yuki Conjugate (OYC) wurde 1982 in Nottingham, England, als Teil der Post-Punk DIY-Szene gegründet. Derzeit in ihrer vierten Inkarnation (die sich auf die Gründungsmitglieder Roger Horberry und Andrew Hulme konzentriert), haben OYC bisher zehn Alben und Retrospektiven veröffentlicht, die ihnen buchstäblich Hunderte von Pfund eingebracht haben.

Inspiriert von Cabaret Voltaire, Durutti Column und Jon Hassell, etablierten OYC ihren Sound in den 80er Jahren mit Alben wie "Scene in Mirage" und "Into Dark Water". In den 90er Jahren stießen Veröffentlichungen wie "Peyote" und "Equator OYC" in Europa und den USA auf Anerkennung, bevor sich die Band für ein Jahrzehnt komplett zurückzog.

Ihre Musik wurde als Post-Industrial, Cold Wave, Dark Ambient, Tribal Ambient, Fourt-World usw. beschrieben; die Band selbst bevorzugt derzeit aber den Begriff "Dirty Ambient". Sich selbst beschreiben sie auch als das "fehlende Bindeglied zwischen Punk und Ambient", was ihre Außenseiterhaltung und DIY-Ethik widerspiegelt.

Heute erfreuen sich OYC wieder zunehmenden Interesses: Das britische Label Emotional Rescue hat eine Reihe früher Alben wiederveröffentlicht, und die Band hat in den letzten zwei Jahren mehr Shows gespielt als in den letzten 20 Jahren. Ihr Live-Set umfasst Visuals des Filmemachers Hulme, die in traumhaften Bildern eng mit der Musik verbunden sind.

Vor und nach dem Konzert wird DJ Zipo [aufabwegen] mit einem Set aus Ambient / Field Recordings / Noise-Collagen auf den Abend einstimmen, bzw. ihn abrunden.

O Yuki Conjugate

Roger Horberry
Andrew Hulme

http://www.silent-green.net

  • silent green Kulturquartier
  • Gerichtstr. 35, Berlin
  • Barrierefreiheit: motorische Einschränkungen